DIY Home: Kitchen Towels


For those who don’t know, I began sewing a couple years ago (for the first time in my life). I taught myself on my mom’s Kenmore sewing machine that was older than I am, literally. It basically had two stitches: forward and reverse. So when I got my fancy brand new machine for Christmas last year, boy was I excited! Since then, I’ve been trying to broaden my portfolio of sewing projects. I made all the valances for my house and I recently made my first tote bag.

And now, these adorable kitchen towels! I used THIS TUTORIAL. If you read closely, depending on your fabric, you may be able to make 4 towels from the fabric supply list. That’s what I did. I purchased 4 sets of fabric (main + accent) and was able to make 16 towels from that. I did need to order extra twill tape, per the instructions. (Note: Don’t do what I did and forget to purchase matching thread. Fortunately, I found what I needed buried in my sewing bin, but that was a total oversight on my part.)

Once you get the pattern down once, you can move quickly. I never have enough time, so I’m not above taking a shortcut or two. My shortcut for this project was that I chose fabrics that could all be sewn with the same color thread. That way, I didn’t need to spend time rethreading my machine and making bobbins. That worked for all but the black breakfast sandwich fabric. I made that the last one I worked on for the same reason.

So, two towels from each fabric set are Christmas gifts for my mom, my mother-in-law, my brother (the breakfast sandwiches, of course), and my son’s babysitter. The other pairs from each fabric set are going up for sale in the carolyncrowndesigns ONLINE STORE.

They really are cute and useful and would make a great holiday gift for anyone! Happy sewing!

2 thoughts on “DIY Home: Kitchen Towels

  1. These are really cute, but are they really towels? Napkins? A kitchen towel would need to be very absorbent; at least that’s what I think. 🙂

    • Hi, Tammy. Thanks so much for your question. I see what you’re saying. I wouldn’t consider these to be dish towels (for drying dishes)…I call them kitchen towels. I have the towel I made for my own kitchen hanging on my dishwasher handle and use it to dry my hands after washing. They work great for that. My mom has hers hanging on her fridge for the same purpose. One person I made a set for just has them hanging as decoration because she thinks they’re too cute to use. (LOL) But I think they’re quite useful. And cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

