DIY Holiday: Grilled Christmas Ornaments


I love to make my own Christmas ornaments. In fact, almost every ornament on our tree is homemade. And I’ve tried a bunch of new techniques this year, including these awesome melted Christmas ornaments I made on our grill out back. I’ll be sharing many of the others on this blog over the next month.

Here is the ORIGINAL POST that inspired my idea.

Now, I’m calling this a Holiday Craft and a Kid Craft, but obviously, the children should only be involved in the prep work. I’ll explain what to do below, and honestly, it’s so easy (and they’re so beautiful), you’ll want to make a hundred of them. All you need is a large package of pony beads, a muffin pan, and a grill.

Note #1: I didn’t want to use my good bakeware for this, so I bought a cheap muffin pan at Target for $5.
Note #2: I’m sure you could use your oven instead of a grill, but I was worried about stinky melted plastic fumes in the house, so I decided to try the grill.

Instructions:

  1. Fill your muffin pan with pony beads. These are just standard pony beads that I purchased in a “value pack” at Michaels. It’s important to fill them only one layer thick, and don’t pack them in there. Leave a little breathing room so that there’s space to melt flat. Otherwise, you’ll get a big lip around your ornament, and (trust me) it’s not pretty. You can use whatever colors you’d like, I made some red/white/green, some pink/purple, and most of them were just random.
  2. Fire up your grill! I have a gas grill and the temperature was around 400 degrees, and that seemed to work great.
  3. Once the grill reaches your desired temperature, pop your muffin tin on there. I closed the lid for the first few minutes and then left the cover open so I could tell when they were ready.
  4. Watch carefully. Once all the beads have completely melted, you’re done! Mine probably took about 5-6 minutes total.
  5. Remove the tin from the grill (it will be VERY hot) and allow to cool. Once everything is completely cool, you can just reach in with your finger and they’ll slide out. Seriously, it’s that easy. It’s quite amazing, actually. I was fully expecting to have to pry them out, but they just popped out cleanly.
  6. Now comes the only tricky part. I had my husband do this final step for me. You need to drill a small hole to insert a ribbon through to use as a hanger. My husband used the smallest drill bit we had. I know, it totally seems like they’ll break under the pressure, but they’re surprisingly sturdy. My four-year-old son accidentally dropped one on the floor, and it didn’t even crack.

Now, just string a ribbon through and hang on your tree! I’d try to arrange them so that they hang in front of a light so that all the colors can shine. Have fun and let me know if you try! I’d love to see some pictures.

6 thoughts on “DIY Holiday: Grilled Christmas Ornaments

    • Hi, Paloma. Thanks so much for your question. I’ve cooked them both on the grill and in the oven. If you cook them in the oven, be careful to keep a close watch on them. And because oven cooking times vary, peek through the glass often and take them out once all the beads are evenly melted. The only reason I prefer the grill is because the beads tend to have a strong chemical smell while cooking, so I like to keep them outside.

  1. We had the best time making these with my daughter and nephew! Such an easy project. They turned out so pretty! Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi, Danielle. Thank you for your question! The dark outline you see is naturally created by the edges of the melted beads, which are slightly raised from cooking in the muffin pan. They’re not black in real life, but appear darker when light is shining from behind the ornaments because they’re slightly thicker than the center of the ornaments.

Leave a Reply

