DIY Food: Insanely Easy Low-Cal Pumpkin Spice Muffins

pumpkin muffins
So this weekend, I made the most delicious, moist, low-calorie, low-fat muffins ever! I’d seen some posts on Pinterest with variations of the recipe, but after doing a bit of research and reading people’s comments, I decided that the simplest recipe was the best one. Here’s a list of ingredients:

  • Betty Crocker Super Moist Cake Mix (Spice)
  • Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin (15 oz. can)

That’s the end of the list. Can you believe it? And you don’t even need to measure anything! All recipes should be so easy.

Pour the dry cake mix and the canned pumpkin into a bowl and stir. It will be quite thick and will take some time to make sure all the cake mix has been absorbed. I used a whisk, but I’m sure you could just use a fork as well.

I lined muffin tins with liners and filled them each about 70-75% full. (This mix won’t rise as much as cupcake mix would.) I popped them in the oven and baked according to the cupcake directions on the cake mix box, until my toothpick came out clean. I was able to make 18 pumpkin muffins in total. I decided to put two muffins per sandwich size Ziploc bag and freeze them to defrost at will. I have one with a cup of tea when I need a pick-me-up in the afternoon.

I added up all the nutritional info from the ingredients and divided by 18, and here’s what I came up with for each muffin:

Calories: 97
Fat: 1g
Saturated Fat: 0.5g
Sugar: 11g

Trust me, they’re moist, delicious, and just sweet enough to feel like you’re cheating on your diet. If you are looking for a lot of flavor, you could add some pumpkin pie spice to the mix before baking.

Leave a Reply

